Soft drizzle & a Glass of wine

It was Saturday morning. I had an entire weekend in front of me when I woke up. The weather was great outside – cloudy, but not dark, slightly drizzling. The rain always makes me go bonkers and it somehow magnifies how I am feeling on that particular day. I was luckily happy and looking forward to meeting a very good friend of mine for lunch. The place we were going for lunch was one of my favorites and I hadn’t been there for a long time. It is a small and quaint restaurant in a resort, fashioned like a fishing hut. Very close to the beach, it has an excellent view. (Most of my favorite places seem to somehow be associated to the beach 🙂 Must be because I grew up near the sea.) I picked my friend up and drove up to The Wharf – that is the restaurant’s name 🙂

The Wharf

We asked for a place outside, facing the sea and ordered Bruschettas for starters, freshly caught King Fish fillets, Chicken with a side of mashed potatoes, corn and peas for my friend and a vegetable lasagna for me, with a glass of Lindemans Red Wine. The food was excellent as always. The Lasagna was wonderfully cooked, the veges were tender and the sheets stayed intact and did not come crumbling once I started to dig in. The wine complemented the food excellently.

There is nothing that can beat the rain, the beach, food, wine and the excellent company of a good friend. Its like the best flavors of life all wrapped in a single package.

Leave a comment